Dear Parents, Please Stop Asking if I’m Challenging Your Child

naveen

As a teacher, I have encountered many types of parents. One question that I am often faced with is, “Are you challenging my child enough?” It’s a well-intentioned question and I understand the concern, but it might not be the most constructive approach when having conversations with your child’s educator.

First and foremost, every child is unique – which means that what challenges one may not be the same for another. Educators are trained to create lessons that cater to diverse learning styles and differentiate instruction based on the individual needs of each student. This means that we are constantly adjusting lessons, activities, and assessments in an attempt to engage every student effectively while keeping their particular strengths and challenges in mind.

When parents ask if their child is being challenged enough, it can inadvertently undermine the hard work educators put in on a daily basis to ensure just that. More importantly, it perpetuates the focus on academic rigor as the sole determinant of a successful education. While challenging students academically is crucial to their development, a holistic education also includes developing social-emotional skills, instilling a love for learning, and fostering creative thinking.

Asking this question can also place undue stress on children. When they hear this concern from their parents, they may begin to feel anxious about whether they are meeting these high expectations or not—anxiety that can quickly undermine both their confidence and love for learning.

Instead of asking if your child is being challenged enough academically (as this is already an educator’s priority), consider approaching the conversation with more open-ended questions or observations. Here are some examples:

1. What topics or activities does my child seem most engaged in?

2. How can I support my child’s learning outside of school?