Aisshwarya DKS Hegde

Educator

1.How did you get into the field of education and what inspires you the most to strive to set goals
for yourself?

After completing my engineering degree, I found myself at a crossroads, uncertain of what path topursue. That is when my family approached me to manage a group of schools that had been in operation for nearly two decades. As my father always says, it is completely left to us what we make out of the opportunities we get in life.

Likewise, the challenge now in front of me was not just to get into an unfamiliar field but to blend in a system that had leaders, principals, and colleagues who were twice and thrice my age.

What fascinated me was that I could learn the most and get back into the education system, and a huge opportunity at throwing a new focus on what I left that was missing in education when I was a student myself.

As a famous saying goes, with power comes responsibility, I decided that I was here to make use of the impact that I could create to do in creating a better learning environment. In the process, I became a learner myself as I faced a steep learning curve and found an opportunity to nurture a new generation of leaders who are committed to making the world a better place. Ultimately, my goal is to be a progressive educator who is able to help our students realize their full potential, both as learners and as citizens of the world and to be the best version of themselves.

1. Can you discuss a time when you had to navigate a difficult situation with school and how could
    you resolve i
    t?

To mention one, one of our schools was posed with a bomb threat during last academic year. Though upon initial scrutiny, the email seemed like a hoax, we knew we could not take chances, thousands of children at school were at stake! Staying calm was the need of the hour. Immediately we moved all of them to a secure location, which fortunately happened to be our institutions nearby.