“Starting my independent practice felt like a calling, but it was like graduating all over again. The learning curve was steep, the hours long, but th

Educator

CF2B9633-1498-4346-A64E-96E124A4E338_processed-225x300.png

This interview has been published by and

Could you please share what inspired you to pursue law, and how your journey from a student to an established advocate shaped your perspective on the legal profession?

I am an accidental lawyer. I come from a background of a wide array of professionals, including engineers, doctors, academicians, and armed forces veterans. During my school days, I was keen to serve in the armed forces growing up in a defence household. However, as a turn of fate, I could not take the NDA examination since I was severely unwell on the day of the exam. Luckily for me, at that time, the curriculum for the NDA entrance examination and LLB courses used to broadly overlap, so I could sit for the LLB examinations and qualify for the 5 year integrated law course at Amity Law School, GGSIPU. The thought of pursuing law as a profession, without any familial guidance, was both daunting and at the same time, exciting. As my college was based in Delhi, throughout the tenure of my course, I interned at various law offices practising diverse spheres of law after college hours. This developed my interest in the profession while giving me invaluable exposure to real practice outside of classrooms and an understanding of the legal profession in its practicality.

At the inspection of your career, you started working with the magic circle firm – Clifford Chance. What motivated you to shift your focus to active litigation and dispute resolution in India? How did this transition add a new dimension to your understanding of the law?