‘Back To My Childhood’: Kerala Man Turned a Barren Mining Site Into a Forest With Mud Homestays

Educator

In 2016, Mustafa P A embarked on a journey which is not everyone’s cup of tea. He purchased a barren land which was once a mining site to transform it into a green oasis with trees, tropical forests and water bodies.

A businessman by profession, it was his work trips to countries like China, Vietnam, and Thailand that contributed to his inspiration to make a

“He looked for the perfect land for nearly a decade before finding this one. His vision is a lush green tropical forest today. The Greenara Homestay is a part of that vision,” Haneena P A, his daughter who manages the homestay with him, tells The Better India.

Located amidst the tropical forest that Mustafa planted in Kerala’s Karipur, surrounding it with seven water bodies, the homestay is the natural getaway of your dreams. The property with three stay options is made with natural materials like mud, straw and wood,

A journey back to his childhood​

Born and raised on a farm, Mustafa always missed living in the lush, green area. The inspiration behind the project was partly because he wanted to relive his childhood.

With the development in the state of Kerala, he felt like the green cover was reducing massively. In a bid to do his part in bringing it back, he decided to undertake the project. It was a friend who alerted him of the land where Greenara now stands.

Mustafa PA, founder of Greenara

Mustafa P A, founder of Greenara

“When I visited the land for the first time, there was not even a single tree on the property. Mining had taken away the life of the place but I could envision a greener future for the place. While I visited the place in summer, I could see the presence of water there,” he adds.

To understand the process of building an ecosystem, he decided to spend a year studying. He referred to various books and videos and spoke to people who had taken up such projects.